Home / News / Dhoni named captain of ICC World T20 team

Dhoni named captain of ICC World T20 team

by malnadnews 7/4/2014


Dhoni named captain of ICC World T20 team

Indian Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was today named captain of the 2014 ICC World Team of the Tournament. Besides Dhoni, three other Indians are named in the team, including star batsman Virat Kohli, opener Rohit Sharma and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

Kohli was adjudged Player of the Tournament for scoring 319 runs with four half centuries. He hit 72 and 77 in the semifinal and final of the showpiece event.

Besides Indians, the team has two players from both South Africa and West Indies, and one representative each from Australia, the Netherlands and champions Sri Lanka.

A select group of experts has chosen the team which was aimed at being suited to play in Bangladesh conditions and they took into consideration the performances of the players in the tournament only.

Selection Panel Chairman and member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, David Boon, said of the selection: “It was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 from the exciting players who featured in this tournament. As the selection criteria for the Team of the Tournament are the performances of players in the conditions during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, some of the best players in world cricket had to be left out of the team.”

“Bowlers in particular performed strongly throughout this tournament, and the side we have selected includes three of the most impressive bowlers in Dale Steyn, Samuel Badree and Lasith Malinga. The team also contains six specialist batsmen, including Stephan Myburgh from the Netherlands as an opening batsman, as well as three all-rounders, including MS Dhoni as a wicket-keeper batsman,” he added.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *